Accidents with Uninsured Drivers in Gwinnett County
A serious wreck brings with it plenty of complications. It can be dire for a lot of accident victims. Finding out you were in an accident with an uninsured driver in Gwinnett County just further adds to the burden.
This is actually not an uncommon situation. The Insurance Information Institute estimated that 11.7 percent of all drivers in Georgia were uninsured in 2012. If one of these drivers caused your wreck, you will have to explore alternatives to filing a liability claim with the at-fault driver’s insurer.
Work with a car accident attorney at the Law Offices of John Morrison to manage your case and explore the options that are available to you.
What are my options if the at-fault driver had no insurance?
Georgia is a fault state and requires drivers carry liability coverage that pays for another party’s damages if the policyholder causes a wreck. All drivers are supposed to carry $25,000 in bodily injury liability per person injured in a wreck and $50,000 in bodily injury liability per wreck.
But this may not mean much to you if the driver broke the law by neglecting to carry liability coverage. The driver will face consequences, but it can leave you without a primary source from which to recover compensation for your damages.
However, you do have some options.
Uninsured motorist (UM) coverage:
While not required in Georgia, UM coverage can be most helpful after an accident with an uninsured motorist. The minimum coverage you can buy is $25,000 per person/$50,000 per accident, but you can always buy more coverage. UM coverage will cover your medical bills, lost wages, and pain and suffering. Check your auto policy to see if you have this coverage.
MedPay, which is also optional, has no deductible or co-pays and you can use it to pay for your medical bills regardless of fault.
Collision coverage is also not required in Georgia. It will pay to fix or replace your car if you are in an accident, regardless of fault.
You may have to use your health insurance to pay for medical care. Keep in mind that in Georgia, you are required to use your MedPay coverage first before using your health insurance.
You may file a lawsuit against the at-fault, uninsured driver. However, be aware that the driver may have chosen not to carry insurance because he could not afford it, so filing a lawsuit may not yield much compensation to cover your damages.
Get Help from John Morrison in Gwinnett County
Unfortunately, you cannot choose the person who hits you, but you can choose what you do next. Collect the right information and get the help you need to explore all available avenues through which you can get compensation for your damages.
So contact the Law Offices of John Morrison at 770-951-8900 as soon as possible to start working on your case.